As I looked at the election numbers rolling in last night, I wondered how many people really take the time to research the candidates. I mean, over 359,000 people voted for Alvin Greene??!! Don't get me wrong, I think we need some fresh faces, not the usual good ole boys (or girls), but did any of these 359,000 people even take the time to listen to this guy talk (and yes I am very embarrassed he has a degree from USC)? So how many people voted for him because he was a Democrat or because he was black? It is so ignorant to vote for someone strictly because they are black, white, red, yellow, brown, green or pink. Likewise with Nikki Haley, how many people voted for her strictly because she was Republican or because she was a woman? I would love to see more women in office, but I'm not going to just vote for every woman that runs for a position without putting them up against their competition and seeing who is the best qualified for the job. I'll admit that I didn't think either candidate for Governor was a prize. So I had to sit down and look at their pros and cons and decided one candidate's cons were just too much for me. Voting isn't easy. If you did your research and you felt your selections were the best, then good for you. You voted based on your beliefs or the candidate you liked best based on their track record and that is how it should be done. I thank God we all have the right to vote. And yes, people have the right to vote for whoever is on the ballot, but to vote for someone strictly because of party, skin color or sex is a good way to keep our government spiralling downward.
Happy Hump Day! (Next article will be something frivoulous I promise)
DY
